VMware Cloud Community
coolpolo76
Contributor
Contributor

Update patches in EXSi 5.5

Hi there,

i have 3 EXSi 5.5 servers connected to vShpere, since im new to my company, the IT guy never update the patches in last whole year, so when i go to the update manager, i can see so many updates and most of the updates needs rebooting, maintenance mode,

my questions are,

1. do i need to update all these patches?

2. any patches that not recommend to update? (i saw online that some updates are not recommended)

3. most important question is that, is there anyway i can update all these patches in one go, may be as in one file and reboot once?

really need your expertise on this

1 Reply
martinriley
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi there,

So largely these decisions will depend on you, your company and your patching policy- the community can advise but there are no hard and fast rules here- I'm guessing though since you've inherited a patchless environment there may not be a policy in place so here's my advice for what it's worth!

1.     You don't NEED to apply any patches, I'm assuming your environment is running along nicely without them til now, however the patches will fix security vulnerabilities, fix bugs etc. so I'd recommend to at least install the major update rollups (last being 3a I believe, released last month), but to be honest you might want to review the updates to see what's fixed or if any functionality is introduced to see if it affects your environment or will give you any benefit- if not then you may decide not to apply a patch, release or update.