VMware Cloud Community
RyanBoud
Contributor
Contributor

VMs not obtaining DHCP address when in the same Port Group

I'm new to VMware so please bear with me!

I'm running a Dell PE1950 using ESXi 4.1.

I've got 2 Windows 2003 Enterprise VMs configured; if they're in the same Virtual Machine Port Group then the first OS to power up will obtain a IP address from our DHCP server which is physically separate. When the second OS powers up it can't obtain an IP address, if I set it to static it still won't communicate. (see vmwarebad.jpg)

I've put the VMs into 2 separate Virtual Machine Port Groups and they can both obtain DHCP addresses and all isgood with the world but that seems wrong - please correct me if that's by design! (see vmwaregood.jpg)

If attached 2 JPGs to show what I mean.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
nsolop
Expert
Expert

How do you have created the virtual machines? folder copy?, template?

Regards/Saludos

Por favor no olvides calificar las respuestas que te resultaron de ayuda o fueron correctas.

Please, don't forget the awarding points for "helpful" and/or "correct" answers.

Nicolás Solop

VMware vExpert 2010 - VCP 410- VCP 310 - VAC - VTSP

My Linkedin Profile

Join to Virtualizacion en Español group in Likedin

!http://feeds.feedburner.com/WetcomGroup.1.gif!

0 Kudos
RyanBoud
Contributor
Contributor

The first one was created by creating a vm and installing windows by

inserting the cd into the host, updating with service pack and updates

then sysprepped. This was then exported to ovf then imported to create

the second. Went through the mini install on both to ensure SIDS were

regenerated.

The weird thing is when they're in two separate vm network groups

they're ok but in the same the second to boot doesn't get an ip from

dhcp

On 28 Jul 2010, at 18:20, "nsolop" <communities-emailer@vmware.com

0 Kudos
bstrignano
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

You didn't hard code a MAC address by any chance?

Try removing the NIC and re-adding it.

0 Kudos
nsolop
Expert