VMware {code} Community
Slingsh0t
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Retrieve list of alarm descriptions in C#

How do I do it?  It seems like such a simple thing yet I'm struggling (I can do other things like get VMs, DC's, etc but I am still learning...).  I can get the alarm ID's, just having trouble with the descriptions.

Can someone please point me in the right direction?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

How are you retrieving the alarms?

One method is to use the AlarmManger and the GetAlarm() method - http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-50/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.vmware.wssdk.apiref.doc_50%2Fvim.alarm.Alar... which will return you an array of Alarms. If you loop through each one, you will see that you can retrieve the description for the alarm which is extended in the AlarmSpec http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-50/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.vmware.wssdk.apiref.doc_50%2Fvim.alarm.Alar...

(e.g. alarm->info->AlarmSpec->description)

0 Kudos
stripeyfish
Contributor
Contributor

Once you have a list of mObj for the Alarms, then retrieve AlarmInfo from the mObj for each Alarm using 'info' property. AlarmInfo inherits the 'description' property from AlarmSpec.

I can dig out some code if you like Smiley Happy

Stripey

0 Kudos
Slingsh0t
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks for the responses guys,  Here is the code I've got so far, any ideas why its not working?:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using VMware.Vim;

namespace ConsoleApplication2
{
    class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {

VimClient c = new VimClient();
            ServiceContent sc = c.Connect("redacted", null, null);
            UserSession us = c.Login("redacted", "redacted");

ManagedObjectReference alarmMOR = new ManagedObjectReference();
            alarmMOR.Type = "Alarm";
            alarmMOR.Value = "alarm-3";

AlarmManager alarmMg = new AlarmManager(c,alarmMOR);