VMware {code} Community
scroger
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ManagedObjectReference to HostSystem, get Host name

I'm new to the vSphere Management SDK, web client and web services.  I've been playing around with some of the samples and things are staring to make some sense. 

I'd like to get a list of all Hosts and their names from vCenter.   I have some sample web client Java code that gets an array of HostSystem ManagedObjectReferences using a QuerySpec from a DataService.

I'm sure it's a simple question, but how do I get the name of the HostSystem for this ManagedObjectReference?  I don't see a HostSystem class in the com.vmware.vim25 package, but some related classes like HostSystemInfo etc.  I assumed I could cast this ref to a HostSystem class, and get the name from some member function. 

Suggestions please.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
scroger
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

By the way, I tried to cast one of the Objects from array of ManagedObjectReferences to:

com.vmware.vim25.ManagedObjectReference. 

While that code compiles, when I try to run the code, the returned Objects fail during the cast and I get a ClassCastException stating that:

com.vmware.vim.binding.vmodl.ManagedObjectReference cannot be cast to a com.vmware.vim25.ManagedObjectReference

This is very frustrating.  Ideas?

0 Kudos
jonathanp
Expert
Expert

I do not know for Java... but it must be almost the same ways,...

For me I use C#... so I reference vmware.vim.. and use that. ( i use the one that come with powerCLI installation folder )

using VMware.Vim;

private VimClient client;

List<EntityViewBase> hostlist = new List<EntityViewBase>();

// then somewhere you connect....

connect()

{

client = new VimClient()

client.Connect("https://<hostip>/sdk");

client.login("username", "password");

hostlist = client.FindEntityViews(typeof(HostSystem), null, null, null );

}

dosomething()

{

foreach ( HostSystem H in hostlist )

{

MessageBox.Show(H.Name);

}

}