VMware Cloud Community
roland_geiser
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Traffic flow when cold migrating a vm

Hello

Is this statement correct: "When I am cold migrating a (powered off) vm from one ESXi's local storage to another ESXi's local storage via vCenter, the traffic flow goes through the management-traffic-portgroup, not the vmotion-portgroup?"

It's because when I do a hot migrate, regardless of its a vmotion or a vmotion with storage vmotion, then the traffic flow goes through the vmotion port group. It's the behavior that I expect. But why does the traffic not flow through the vmotion-portgroup as well when I do a cold migration? Or ist there a misconfiguration? But I have different port groups on different nic's and there are different subnets configured...and every port group has just one traffic type assigned.

I am just studying: What if I have a 10GB vmotion network and a 1 GB management network? When doing a cold migration, the traffic will choose the slow 1-GB-connection? Everybody is giving as much bandwidth as possible for vmotion, but in that scenario the traffic goes through the management network? I know - in most cases we are doing a vmotion or svmotion. But I was astonished when I detected, that the traffic choses the management port group and not the vmotion port group...

Is this really the default behavior as described?

Best regards

Roland

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Yes that is correct - with cold migration the data does move across the management network and this is the espected behavior -Traffic does not through the vMotion network because a Cold Migration is not vMotion - also depending on whether your shared storage supports VMware Storage APIs or not will depend on whether the data stays on your storage network or onto you public network.

Also 10 GB in my opinion is overkill for your vmotion network - it is designed to work with 1 GB -