VMware Cloud Community
Herry_Lie
Contributor
Contributor

VMware vSwitch Routed Based on IP Hash etherchannel

Hi VMware community

I am studying more about vSwitch (Routed Based On IP Hash).

Based on the KB that I read, that Routed Based On IP Hash can be used on vSwitch by using Etherchannel.

But EtherChannel is a port link aggregation technology or port-channel architecture used primarily on Cisco switches.

and in KB explained that to use routed based on ip hash we have to use static LAG.

My question is whether routed based on ip hash can only use etherchannel which is proprietary to cisco? Can I use static LAGs that exist on other brand switches?

For example Dell power connect or Force10.

Sorry for my bad english

0 Kudos
6 Replies
SureshKumarMuth
Commander
Commander

Yes, you can use both.

In cisco we call it as etherchannel

In HP it is called as portchannel

however are both are supported, it should be supported on other switches as well irrespective how we name it. Ultimate thing is LAG , we should have the NICs grouped at physical switch level.

You can test the functionality on one host first then proceed with other hosts.

Regards,
Suresh
https://vconnectit.wordpress.com/
Herry_Lie
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Sureshkumar

As you've explained LAG has various names in every brand.

That's why I'm confused because the statement described in vmware KB says etherchannel therefore I just want to make sure that etherchannel and port-channel are exactly the same.

I'm analyzing if vswitch can use static LAG then this can maximize vswitch performance with limited environment.

My goal is to provide maximum results with a limited environment

Thank you for the information

0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal