VMware Cloud Community
FingerJC
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

vCenter Linked Mode

I have been managing a linked vCenter environment for a few years now.  I did not set it up.  I find it not great to maintain.  I actually have multiple geographically diverse data centers that I know I should be standing up another vCenter server and moving resources to it and linking that one to the existing environment.  I've heard others in our org spit ball ideas.  In a lab, I went ahead and stood up 2 vCenter servers and set up linked mode as existing separate vCenters, rather than deploying it as such, as this is the scenario I would encounter with linking existing vCenters. 

From what I saw of the linking process, this doesn't appear to be something you just want to unlink temporarily and re-link?  I have a customer or two where we manage their hosts using our vCenter, but will likely be spinning up new vCenters for them.  Would like to make it a single pane of glass to manage their hosts, but if I've got 5ish vCenters linked, I'm not necessarily going to want to shut them all down to snap them all prior to doing any updates, but I'm not really seeing that it's feasible to unlink temporarily to give me more time to get them all updated.  How do others manage maintaining the environment with more than 2 linked vCenters?  Am I over thinking this or is this just a challenge I need to work through?

Presently, our authentication to vCenter is LDAP.  I am thinking about joining vCenter to our Active Directory.  Not knowing why it was initially decided not to join AD, I am not sure if there are implications to domain joined with regards to linked mode.  We have acquired another entity and they have a much smaller vCenter environment that will eventually all get absorbed into ours, but they are joined to their AD and this may become linked to our vCenter environment during this transition period. 

To recap questions I've got: