VMware Communities
RussHuffman
Contributor
Contributor

Windows host OS preferences. W10 Pro, Enterprise, or Server 2016

I've been running VMWare for several years with a Win8 Enterprise host.  The host did nothing except run VMWare, so after killing off that Metro UI, it never took much of my attention, and things worked well.  I use VMs for lots of different things including multiple simultaneously running VMs.  I typically run several Visual Studio dev environments, another for VPN, another for "general Web access/search/etc" (disposable), and another for office type apps.  Often 6 or more at a time.  I'm running a pretty high spec machine, so this was fine for my needs.  (dxdiag.txt attached)

I recently upgraded my host SSD, and decided to install Win10 Pro for the host.  No real reason, just ready to forget W8 as much as possible.  The problem is, performance of my VMs has suffered substantially.

I'm wondering if the problem is with the host.  Maybe moving to W10?  Or maybe it's Pro vs Ent?  Or if I would be better off with Server 2016. 

As stated, this is used for nothing except running VMWare to host VMs.  Nothing else is installed on the host VM, including AV.  And the VMs don't run any of the problematic AVs.  I also have licenses for all MS OS variants, so that's not an issue.  All VMs are on SSDs, and their distribution has not changed. 

The biggest place I notice a difference is when running my Dev VMs.  Builds, debugging, profiling, pretty much everything is slower.  Maybe 40% by seat of the pants, and that's with the VM in question as foreground.  I also have noticeably slower transfers of large numbers of files from one to another (obviously at least 1 being background).  And of course I sometimes do start long running tasks in one VM and then switch to another while it does whatever it does.