VMware Communities
BishBosh
Contributor
Contributor

Vista 32bit Enterprise host has issues with Bridged Network on guest

Hi All

Im new to this VM stuff so I appoligise if this issue is documented already. I have looked around but none of my searches have come up with my problem.

I have a HP DC7600 PC & HP 8710p laptop with Vista 32bit Ent installed running the latest version of VMWorkstation but on both machines I have had problems with getting Bridged network to run.

If I switch over to NAT it works fine... I have reinstalled VM 6.05 and rebuilt new Guest XP's but still NO bridged network.

I am at a bit of a dead end and require some expert help on this probabily simple issue...

Help????

Bruce

0 Kudos
6 Replies
guyrleech
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Would you clarify what constiutes not working in the guest? Can the guest ping the host and vice verse when bridged? Are you auto-bridging? How many NICs do the laptops have (wired and/or wireless)? What does "ipconfig a/ll" give in the guest? Any event log errors?

I have Workstation 6.5.0 on an x86 Vista Enterprise HP nx9420 with auto-bridged networks and it works fine in that it gets a DHCP address from an external server and can browse the intranet and external internet from IE.

-- If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or Correct buttons to award points.
0 Kudos
KevinG
Immortal
Immortal

If troubleshooting a network issue, please include the following additional information.
  • Post the output from "ipconfig /all" (Windows) or " ifconfig -a" (Linux) from both the host and the guest OS

• Post the .vmx file from the virtual machine.

• Details of how your host is connected to the network / Internet (Cable Modem, DSL, Router, Switch, Wired, Wireless,...).

0 Kudos
BishBosh
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Guys

I have found that there is an error in the host and guest Application Log's for vmauthd event error id 100.