VMware Communities
Nordqvist
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

VmPlayer Network adapter question

Hi!

I'm kind of new to Vmplayer and have some trouble setting up the network adapters i my player.

On my computer I have several network connections(LAN, wireless, VPN's and so on) and i'm going nuts on how to setup these to my VmPlayer.

What I want but can't get to work are that my connections on my host computer are "mapped"(maybe copied are the right word for this?) to the virtual machine.

I've tried using Bridged but somehow it always take just one of my network connections(usually the one with internet connection), can't get the other options to work either.

Is there some way you could "mapp" all of the host's connections to the guest?

I'm not a network guru so if someone have the time I would love to learn the difference between the different setups in VmPlayer network tab.

Thanks in advance!

/Johan

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Run the VMware Network Configuration utility (as admin).

Select the checkbox for "automatically bridge network adapters" and unselect it.

Then, for VMnet0, select one of your physical NICs... Repeat using unused VMnets for any additional physical NICs.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
gimmely
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Is there some way you could "mapp" all of the host's connections to the guest?

Do you really want or have to do this?

In my case, my host is connected to intranet via VPN and I need to use other VPN programs to connect to my clients' networks.  So, you can imagine that these VPNs may have conflicts with each other or simply cancel the other VPN.  So, my solution is to build a VM with NAT to the host for the Internet access only and set up/use a different VPN program on the VM from the one on the host, which is for my intranet.