VMware Cloud Community
astrolab
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Get-stat monthly CPU utilization

I am trying to get a report of how much CPU + Memory has been utilized by VMs in the last month. Being a PS newbie I have tried (for days) pasting several pieces of code I found in this forum together, no luck, the ugliness of my scripts is haunting me......just can't get the GET-stat cmdlet right. Could I get some help?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

It would help if you said what statistic values you like to see and in which format (on screen, TXT file, CSV file...)

In any case this a straightforward example that give the average CPU and Memory use for each VM over a 30 day period.

The output is not very pretty or usable, it's just to show you what is possible.

get-vm | %{
  Get-Stat -Entity ($vm) `
           -start (get-date).AddDays(-30) `
           -stat cpu.usage.average | select Entity, Timestamp, MetricId, Value, Unit
  Get-Stat -Entity ($vm) `
           -stat mem.usage.average | select Entity, Timestamp, MetricId, Value, Unit
}

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

It would help if you said what statistic values you like to see and in which format (on screen, TXT file, CSV file...)

In any case this a straightforward example that give the average CPU and Memory use for each VM over a 30 day period.

The output is not very pretty or usable, it's just to show you what is possible.

get-vm | %{
  Get-Stat -Entity ($vm) `
           -stat cpu.usage.average | select Entity, Timestamp, MetricId, Value, Unit
  Get-Stat -Entity ($vm) `
           -stat mem.usage.average | select Entity, Timestamp, MetricId, Value, Unit
}

0 Kudos
astrolab
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution