VMware Communities
skiphish
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

unable to use keyboard at install on brand new mac

I have searched hard through previous posts and have not found an explanation for this. I am trying to install windows xp upgrade CD and still have the windows 98 Cd. I have tried both to disconnect the virtual drive, eject CD and put in new CD, AND make ISO images and do it that way. The problem is, every method I've tried requires some sort of input from the keyboard to continue the install....usually just hitting enter, or to down arrow to select the windows 98 CD and press enter. It does not do anything on the first push of the keyboard, and every subsequent push causes the system to beep. Now I've also read this may have something to do with other programs interfering with something called "secureinput," but what makes my situation different, is I have a brand new apple, without any other programs installed on it yet. Granted, I'm new to apple, but I am pretty computer literate.

please help

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

No, not mouse clicking (that seems to suspend it).

Okay that doesn't make any sense... Are you saying that if you click into the Virtual Machines window in order to direct input to that windows it then suspends the Virtual Machine?

Anyway I'm going to ask this again because a definitive answer is necessary to attempt to accurately diagnose this issue...

Like any application you must first set focus to it before it accepts input from the mouse or keyboard and in the case of a Virtual Machine you have a few choices, one is to click inside the Virtual Machines windows as noted by the Status Bar in the picture below or the VMware Fusion menu bar > Virtual Machine > Grab Input command or pressing Command+G if Fusion has focus.