VMware Cloud Community
jshrimp3
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Trouble repairing a cloned WinXP

I'm attempting to take an XP machine I have and move it to an ESX VM. I used the vCenter Converter Standalone to clone the machine, and then tried to do a Repair Installation of Windows XP to get it up and running. The clone worked successfully (as far as I know), but when I try to repair it it runs through most of the process, but when it has to reboot the machine it gives me "Error loading operating system." Is there something I'm missing? I downloaded and used the VMWare SCSI drivers, but other than that I haven't done anything special.

I also tried just installing XP from scratch (I'm new to ESX), and it worked with no problems, so does this mean that something went wrong during the cloning process, or what?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
continuum
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Sounds like you used Converter 4.0.1 - for XP I highly recommend to use Converter 3.0.3

VMX-parameters- WS FAQ -[ MOAcd|http://sanbarrow.com/moa241.html] - VMDK-Handbook

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
AntonVZhbankov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

P2V was never guaranteed, some VMs works fine after P2V, some needs additional actions, some just don't.

---

MCSA, MCTS Hyper-V, VCP 3/4, VMware vExpert '2009

http://blog.vadmin.ru

EMCCAe, HPE ASE, MCITP: SA+VA, VCP 3/4/5, VMware vExpert XO (14 stars)
VMUG Russia Leader
http://t.me/beerpanda
0 Kudos
jshrimp3
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

As a followup, I've tried a P2V conversion with a different XP machine I have, and it seems that the VM will hardly boot at all. I repaired the installation, but then when I boot I just stare at a black screen, not even an "Error loading operating system" message. Smiley Sad

0 Kudos
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Did you choose to install the VMware tools during conversion.