VMware Cloud Community
sean1017
Contributor
Contributor

Please help! Getting Invalid Configuration For Device 0...i know why but can't fix it.

I'm in a bad situation here. I have a MSCS file cluster that was previously running with RDMs to a volume on a SAN that has since been deleted. I am used to working with cluster disks through ISCSI and had forgotten that i added those RDMs to the VM (for testing purposes) so after i reconfigured everything within cluster administrator to point to a new volume on a different SAN, i deleted the original volume.

Now when i try to start the VM i get an error message "virtual disk 'hard disk 1' is not accessible on the host. Unable to access the file "

So then I went in to remove those disks (because i don't need them anymore, all my connections are now direct through MS ISCSI) but when i try i get the error message "Invalid configuration for device 0"

So now i'm in a real bad situation...I can't start either node in the cluster.

HELP!

0 Kudos
8 Replies
oreeh
Immortal
Immortal

Post the VMX file and the log

0 Kudos
sean1017
Contributor
Contributor

thank you for replying so quickly.

I zipped the vmx file and all the logs and attached it.

please let me know if you need anything else. I hope it's as easy as manually editing the config.

i really appreciate the help. i need to get this up somehow by tomorrow AM and i only have gold support.

0 Kudos
oreeh
Immortal
Immortal

Remove the VMs from inventory, then open the VMX file in an editor and comment out the following lines:

scsi1:0.present = "true"

scsi1:0.fileName = "/vmfs/volumes/471caa1f-3d6e96f6-df82-001b2103c0dc/FileCluster/quorum_disk0.vmdk"

scsi1:0.deviceType = "scsi-hardDisk"

Then add the VMs back to inventory and check if you can start them.

0 Kudos
sean1017
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you!