VMware Edu & Cert Community
piedthepiper
Contributor
Contributor

vSphere Design Workshop v5.5 Review

Hi Guys,

I thought I would give a basic review of the course.

I paid to go on this course myself, and I think it was worth it from my point of view! I have very little design experience and it was a great primer as to what is expected when designing a virtulialized environment .

The instructor was very knowledgeable and had worked in various admin/consulting roles before becoming an instructor, so he was able to delve into his real world examples. it was good to have someone who didn't just know how to teach the course and nothing else! he was able to explain and correct some misconceptions I had regarding resource pools and HA.

There were 3 other people on the course from some pretty big companies, and they had been doing design work before, so there were some really good discussions going on with regards to what goes on in the real world.

There were 2 case studies, although we really only went in depth into 1 of them, as they both had a lot of cross over. We broke off into two teams for the labs and then explained our design decisions to everyone else, and the instructor then explained what vmwares standpoint was and what his own standpoint was too. Since I had just done my DCA, I made some slightly different design decisions to the rest of the guys, esp with regards to DVS and LBT.