VMware Support Community
Bov4
Contributor
Contributor

Install VMware-workstation-full-17.0.0-20800274 as the main OS on a PC with no OS

Regarding VMware-workstation-full-17.0.0-20800274.

I have a Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER motherboard with an Intel Core i7-11700K processor, but with no installed OS. I want to install VMware as the main controlling OS on this machine before installing any other OSes that will then run under VMware. To do that, I need to create a bootable VMware ISO DVD. From where can I download a VMware ISO image from which I could then burn to an installation DVD and make it bootable, so as to install VMware as the main controlling OS on an 'empty' machine? Obviously, I need to check that this can be done before I purchase the licensed version of VMware. Thanks.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Alfista_PS
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi,

VMware Workstation is an application which run only on a OS, you can't install it or use without OS on bare-metal.

When you will use VMware for you virtualisation on a host directly, the you can use ESXi (vSphere) which is OS with included virtualisation system.

When you still only plan to order VMware I will suggest you the VMware vSphere Essentials Kit

https://store-us.vmware.com/vmware-vsphere-essentials-kit-5653279100.html

Its the cheapest version of the vSphere which is possible to install on 2 PC's (hosts) and also include the vCenter application for managing.

Alfista
----------------------
Audio-Video Accessories
Selling and Integration of Audio & Video Accessories and Technology
If my answer has resolved your problem please mark as RESOLVED or if it has only was a good help then give me the KUDOS. Thanks.
RWSchlatter
Contributor
Contributor

I am unaware that VMWare offers a standalone version (but check the prior reply for a special case).