VMware Cloud Community
GPT
Contributor
Contributor

Upgrading ESXi 4 to ESXi Update 1

I am attempting to determine how to apply VMWare ESX1 Update 1 to a VMWare ESXi 4 hosts...

I am VERY new to ESXi.. I have the VMA appliance installed and it is at update 1.

My reply to address in the communities is not correct and tehc support has been working on it for a last couple of weeks and can not figure out how to correct it. So if I am not repsonding to the post quickly is is becouse I have to login to check responses.

G.P. Trent

0 Kudos
9 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

I would take my email address out of the post. To easy to be picked up by spam.

If you installed the Host Update Utility when you installed the vSphere Client then you have the tool for doing the updates. If you didn't install it I would download and install it again and make sure you check the box for installing the Host Update Utility.

If you have the utility just launch it. Add the ESXi host you want to update. Click the scan for patches.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
GPT
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the response... I will modify my original post ot remove my email address... I apparently did not install the host update utility and I will look into do ing that.

It appears that I may have to resinstall ESXi to get this functionalality..

0 Kudos
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

No need to reinstall. It is a vSphere client tool. Just download the new client from the VMware ESXi download page. Make sure when you reinstall the client that you select to install the Host Update Utility as well.

0 Kudos
GPT
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the assistance.. It appears that Update 1 is not avaialbe to ESXi that is only the free edition.. I spoke with sales just few minutes ago.. Perhpas that is why I can not connect to the host to trasfer files to the datastores also..

Thanks for your assistance..

0 Kudos
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal