VMware Cloud Community
DerekM
Contributor
Contributor

Customization fails when performing a cold clone

I am fairly new to VMware and virtualization, but I am running into an issue attempting to change server name, IP address, and SSID when converting a Physical server using cold clone method. I do have the Sysprep files for Windows 2003 R2, extracted from the installation CD. I placed them in the correct folder on my Virtual Center 2.5 server, but of course I am using cold clone so I also placed them onto the Converter CD. I setup a new server name, set the IP address, and ask it to generate a new SSID in the Customization section of the wizard. The conversion runs and all appears to be working correctly. When I power on the new Virtual Machine I find that the Server name has not been changed, the IP address is set to DHCP, and the SSID has not been changed. My physical server is kicked out of the domain by the new VM.

I have not found much information about any additional steps that are needed to successfully customize a new VM. It is apparent that I am missing a step some where along the line. Anyone know where I can find a good document on customizing a VM when cold cloning, or know what I am doing wrong here? I have not tried hot clone from Virtual Center, I read that I should do cold clone of my Exchange 2007 server to convert it from physical server to VM. Thus, I want to get cold clone process working on my Terminal Servers before tackling Exchange. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
theanykey
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Can you try again but do not select option "automatically install vm-tools"

If it fails again, can you attach the logs?

0 Kudos
DerekM
Contributor
Contributor