VMware Cloud Community
cmcfarlane
Contributor
Contributor

Converter failing at 97%

I am new to the VM world and I am trying to convert a Windows 2000 Server running SP4. Everytime I try to to convert the server over it fails at 97%. I get a windows error that pops up telling me that my registry is too small, yet I have doubled the size of it. I have removed the mirrored drive from the system and shut down all but Microsoft services on the machine. I have upgraded the converter software to the 3.0.2 build 59994, but I keep having the same problem. Any help would be nice. I can upload a log file if needed.

0 Kudos
24 Replies
DMahalko
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I am also new to VMWare and I also had the coverter fail at 97% with a Registry Too Small message popup.

I have combatted this registry problem in the past. Basically the hundreds of Windows Updates over the years have led to massive fragmentation of the registry files. Increasing the maximum to about 200 meg will stave off the Too Small warning for a while, but the real problem is the fragmentation rather than it being too small.

You cannot fix this problem by running the standard Windows 2000 Disk Defragmenter. It cannot defrag system files that are in use, and the registry is always open and in use.

The solution (at least to the registry problem) is to install the SysInternals utility Page Defrag, which defragments all the registry hives during the system boot, before Windows has started up. Page Defrag is free, and available for download from Microsoft (they bought out SysInternals):

PageDefrag v2.32 - By Mark Russinovich

After installing it on this server and rebooting, during startup Page Defrag said that the SOFTWARE hive was in 270 fragments, and defragged it into 1.