VMware Cloud Community
TheDL1
Contributor
Contributor

SQL query network traffic seems capped

Hello, I'm new to the forums and somewhat of a VMware beginner, so please excuse any stupid questions.  I presume this post requesting assistance will likely result in questions from the community about our environment in order to narrow in on the cause of issue so I will do my best to answer promptly as it will be a bit of a discovery excercise for myself also (as I'm new to this organization and their VM environment).

One of our DB admins came to me recently with a request to investigate latency issues with a SQL query.  Basically he has an application (Forefront Identity Manager) that is querying a SQL database, and his DB monitoring shows latency issues.  Both the application server and SQL server are VM's (ESX 5), and there are in fact numerous instances of both application and SQL server (production, test, QA environment).  The latency issue affects all instances, and seems to be network related.  I read some articles on the subject and looked at our environment, both at the VM and guest O/S level and I can't figure out what the problem is.  It is worth noting that when the application and SQL database exist on the same guest machine, there is no problem.  After looking at the disk, memory, CPU performance metrics, I don't believe this is a cause for the problem - but perhaps I am missing something.

Below is the email from our DB admin with details:

"The issue I was mentioning earlier is network performance between the FIM Synchronizationservice and the FIM database server:

1. With the DPA (Database Perf Analyzer) I can see that the predominant waits are Async_Network_IO

Here is an example:

radu.jpg

• They make-up over 90% of the waits for this kind of FIM run and about 60% of the overall waits on the FIM database server
  • DPA might help with other networking details (e.g. counts of packets sent/received etc.)