VMware Cloud Community
gujjugujrati420
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Setting up vSphere LAB at home

Hi,

I am new to VMware and new to this community. I am looking for some help & guidance with setting a lab environment at home. The reason i like to do this as i like to gain some hands on experience with vSphere and other new technologies.

I have once desktop computer that I built in December 2009: Basic specs as follow:

Asus P6X58D Premium Motherboard

Intel i7 920 CPU

12GB of RAM (G. Skill Ripjaws Series DDR3 1600MHz PC3-12800 (6x2GB)

Sapphire ATI Radeon HD4670 1GB GDDR3

Enermax EMD625AWT MODU82+ 625W Powe3r Supply

Cool Master HAF922 Mid Tower ATX Case

2 x on board Marve Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet.

Running Windows 7 Pro.

1 x Linksys Dual band Gigabit Router (WRT320N)

1 x external USB 1T HDD

I have setup one ESX4.0 server and its running in VMware Workstation 6.5.2 build 156735. There are no other VMs that i have built in either in ESX server or in VMware Workstation.

I like to setup at least two or three ESX 4.0 server in VMware Workstation. and then i like to create few VMs that will have vCenter server, DB server, and Domain control, DNS DHCP server and File & Print server., exchange 2007 and may be SharePoint server.

I do not have NAS storage or any other high end SAN or other type of storage. Is there any other way of setting up an shared storage that I can use for all my VMs that i like to setup. I also like to achieve and learn VMotion, VM HA, DRS, Storage VMotion, etc..

Is this possible for me to do all this with what i have?

Thank you,

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Kasraeian
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

By the way, you can find Openfiler and Freenas as VSA (Virtual Storage Appliance) for VMware so you can import them to your VMware Workstation or VMware ESX/ESXi.