VMware Cloud Community
dburkhart85
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Access to ESXi 6.5 and 6.7

First, I have to admit that I am not a VMware expert by any means. I am involved with this product by necessity rather than choice. That is not a derogatory statement against VMware; just stating my knowledge and confidence level.

I have a Cisco VoIP infrastructure that has become out-of-date for various reasons. It runs on ESXi 5.5. In order to update the Cisco software running on it, I need to upgrade from ESXi 5.5 to 6.5 then on up to 6.7 U3. I have become painfully aware that both of these versions of 6 are EOS and EOL, and yet upgrading to 6.7 is needed (as I understand my situation thus far) to get my Cisco software to a current versions. Ultimately, I plan to buy new servers to host the VMware and have all the hardware and software fully current. 

How can I get copies of VMware vSphere Hypervisor (ESXi) Offline Bundle versions 6.5 and 6.7 U3? I only need these to transition up to current platform versions. I have no intentions to remain at 6.5 or 6.7 U3 for any length of time. Thank you for any assistance. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
markey165
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

@dburkhart85  - If you have an existing VMware license agreement, why not just build a new ESXi 8 host, copy the VM across and power it back on at the other end. It would be far easier and safer. This also gives you a rollback plan, as you can leave the existing server "as is" until you have successfully migrated the VM to the new host.

See a blog post i wrote on how to do this here - https://www.virt-ed.com/post/copying-a-vm-between-esxi-hosts