VMware Cloud Community
KellyOlivier
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

vMA scripting wonders

Ok, so I have been working on scripting from the vMA. I am pretty familiar with what you can and cannot do with it, but this is my first attempt at scripting a complete configuration. One thing I am having an issue with seems like a simple concept, but is stalling. For example, 2 hosts are already added to the vMA. When I try something simple like:

#!/bin/bash

vifptarget -s esx1

esxcfg-vswitch -L vmnic1 vSwitch0

vifptarget -s esx2

esxcfg-vswitch -L vmnic1 vSwitch0

What happens is that I still get asked for username and password. If I have already vifpassed to esx1 then the command runs (even though i get weird response about not being to find vifptarget), twice on esx1 I might add.

Is there something I don't know that is required when scripting with vifpass? I thought it sounded simple to script with the changing of several hosts.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jump to solution

As I mentioned in the last reply, you can get it to work but it's not ideal, at least for me personally. If you're going to use vMA's fastpass library which is what this is all using with vifptarget and vifp, I would prefer to create a script that utilizes the fastpass module directly which means creating a Perl or Java utility. This is definitely not for beginners, but with regards to your original question, yes it can be done.

I'm going to assume you're using vMA 4.1, if you are not, recommend upgrading.

You should easily be able to convert this example into what you need to implement but I will leave that as an exercise for you.

My scenario is the following, I have two ESX 4.1 hosts which I need to add a new vSwitch called vSwitch2 and add a new portgroup called AppPG with VLAN ID 1234

Here is my configuration file:

[vi-admin@tancredi ~]$ cat config
esx4-1.primp-industries.com:vSwitch2:AppPg:1234