VMware Workspace ONE Community
Bravehrt
Contributor
Contributor

Turn off private addressing in Airwatch

Hello everyone. I am trying to create a new IOS 15.X profile to distribute to our iPads, and I am kind of new to Airwatch / Workspace One. 

I do not see a location within the client to permanently disable private addressing? We need this to be permanently switched off. 

Can anyone please tell me *exactly* where to find / locate it within to client so I can save this profile?

Thank you very much!

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Bravehrt
Contributor
Contributor

Bueller? Anybody?

somemdm
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

You'll need to create a Wi-Fi profile for the intended wireless network and check the box 'Prevent MAC address randomization'.

JacquesPerrolle
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

What @somemdm said. That's the only way to manage it for iOS. There is no way to manage it for Android. Quite the bummer if you're also using a Network Access Control.

0 Kudos
Bravehrt
Contributor
Contributor

Do you mean, even with "powered by 2010" there IS a way to turn it off, but NOT to turn it back on again, 

OR

Are you saying there's no way to manage that feature whatsoever ?

0 Kudos
JacquesPerrolle
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

The only way to disable the randomized MAC address feature in iOS is in a Wi-Fi profile. And that only applies to whatever wifi SSID you're trying to connect the users to, if that is even a road you want to go down. Beyond that, there is no way to "permanently disable" private addressing. In my testing, even disabling it in the wi-fi profile was hit or miss to the point I just gave up.

0 Kudos
Bravehrt
Contributor
Contributor

I'm sorry I wasn't clear. I was referring to the previous comment referring Androids. 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
JacquesPerrolle
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I don't believe there's a way to manage it at all on Androids. I've been unable to find a way to disable private addressing within the profile space.

0 Kudos
JacquesPerrolle
Enthusiast
Enthusiast