VMware Cloud Community
Silvester
Contributor
Contributor

Monitoring VSAN using RVC from a dedicated vcenter appliance

Dear all,

I'm new to VSAN and I have a question regarding to RVC and VSAN Observer.

I have a windows-based VCenter to manage the VSAN cluster.  According to https://blogs.vmware.com/vsphere/2014/07/managing-vsan-ruby-vsphere-console.html, "We recommend deploying a vCenter Server Appliance (minimum version 5.5u1b) to act as a dedicated server for the Ruby vSphere Console and Virtual SAN Observer." So I also just deployed a vCenter Server Appliance. Then I login into the appliance via ssh and run RVC command like this:

rvc root@localhost

Then I realize my VSAN cluster is not managed by the vCenter Server Appliance thus I cannot see any cluster there.

And if I run the rvc command in the appliance to the ip of my windows VCenter server like below (the credential I use is able to log into VCenter web client):

rvc administrator@193.168.111.1

It then give me following error:

/opt/vmware/rvc/gems/rbvmomi-1.7.0/lib/rbvmomi/connection.rb:61:in `parse_response': NoPermission: Permission to perform this operation was denied. (RbVmomi::Fault)

from /opt/vmware/rvc/gems/rbvmomi-1.7.0/lib/rbvmomi/connection.rb:90:in `call'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/gems/rbvmomi-1.7.0/lib/rbvmomi/basic_types.rb:205:in `_call'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/gems/rbvmomi-1.7.0/lib/rbvmomi/basic_types.rb:74:in `block (2 levels) in init'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/lib/rvc/modules/vim.rb:119:in `block in connect'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/lib/rvc/modules/vim.rb:116:in `loop'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/lib/rvc/modules/vim.rb:116:in `connect'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/lib/rvc/modules/vim.rb:24:in `block in load_code'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/bin/rvc:84:in `call'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/bin/rvc:84:in `block in <main>'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/bin/rvc:71:in `each'

from /opt/vmware/rvc/bin/rvc:71:in `<main>'

May I know what steps I'm missing?

Thanks!

Silvester

Tags (2)
5 Replies
jbrowne
VMware Employee