VMware Cloud Community
susenj
Contributor
Contributor

Password expiry alarms don't heal by themselves

Hi Experts,

I am using vSphere Client to access a vCenter. The root user password got expired a few days ago and a critical alarm got triggered that I could see in the alarm section.

As an administrator, I took action to reset the password and I was expecting that the alarm would be gone away by itself. However, it didn't happen and I had to manually reset it to green.

I have some queries in this context, please let me know if any other information is required:

1. Did this happen because vCenter Server didn't retrieve the event that identifies the normal condition(password reset in this case)?
  2. Is it expected for such alarms not to heal by themselves? If so, is it documented anywhere? In other words, where can we see what all types of alarms need a manual reset?
  3. Is there a probability of a bug somewhere that didn't let the alarm go green by itself?

Thanks,
susenj

0 Kudos
5 Replies
RajeevVCP4
Expert
Expert

A I know without acknowledge alarm would not go away

Rajeev Chauhan
VCIX-DCV6.5/VSAN/VXRAIL
Please mark help full or correct if my answer is use full for you
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
susenj
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for your reply. May I know if it is documented somewhere? How do we get to know what(type of) alarms need to be explicitly acknowledged?

and once acknowledged - it will go away automatically once the alarm condition is set to false. Is this a correct assumption?

0 Kudos
RajeevVCP4
Expert
Expert

I used this docs

https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphere/7.0/com.vmware.vsphere.monitoring.doc/GUID-2A9C547B-9D33-4...

Rajeev Chauhan
VCIX-DCV6.5/VSAN/VXRAIL
Please mark help full or correct if my answer is use full for you
0 Kudos
susenj
Contributor
Contributor