VMware Communities
danmpem
Contributor
Contributor

How to Make a Virtual Image from Bootable Hard Disk

I am a newb to VMWare Workstation, so please bear with me. I want to make a Virtual Image out of my Windows XP partition, so I can just load that on my VMWare on my Mac. I know how to make a normal virtual image so i can just boot & install linux, etc on it, but how do I get my bootable windows disk onto the vitual image?

My specs:

Dell Dimension 4600

Windows XP Pro SP3

Pentium 4 2.4 GHz 32-bit Single-Core

2GB RAM

160 GB SATA Hard Drive, partitioned into a 25GB C:\ and a 100GB D:\ for data & program installation. Both are partitioned in using NTFS

VMWare Workstation 6.5

Thanks!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
danmpem
Contributor
Contributor

Oh, and I meant to say that I want to boot this image on my Mac using VMWare Player, not Fusion. I haven't yet used VMWare on a Mac, so I don't know how well my Windows-made virtual image will work on other systems.

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

vmplayer does not run on MAC

VMX-parameters- VMware-liveCD - VM-Sickbay

0 Kudos
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

Use the free VMware Converter to convert your existing physical PC to a virtual machine which will run under VMware products.

The only VMware product to run on Macs at this time is Fusion, however.

0 Kudos
danmpem
Contributor
Contributor

Hmm, I thought that Fusion was used to boot another partition with an OS, while still remaining in the Mac OS...or can it do both?

But thank you very much! Now I know how to get it up and running!

0 Kudos
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

>Hmm, I thought that Fusion was used to boot another partition with an OS, while still remaining in the Mac OS...or can it do both?