VMware Communities
Vighnesh20
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Help needed for installing windows server 2008 r2

Hello users,

I'm new to this virtual environment technology and i needed help in installing the windows server 2008 r2 on vm workstation. So for that what are the recommended setting for drivers, no. of processors, amount of ram, type of ssci or sata..etc for giving the best performance on my virtual machine. If possible please provide me with detailed information for my knowledge.Smiley Happy

Thanks in advance

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
schepp
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Are you sure you installed a Windows Server 2008 R2?

Because the normal procedure is, that after installation, you get a prompt to choose an administrator password. After that you are logged in.

There are no extra users created during installation. This only happens when installing desktop versions of Windows.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
schepp
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Discussion successfully moved from Community Website Help to VMware Workstation

Hi, welcome to the communities,

basic guideline should be to start with a small amount of ressources and add more if it isn't sufficient.

So you can start with 1 vCPU and 1 GB RAM. For the other settings keep the defaults the VM creation wizard gives you. It selects them based on the Guest OS you choose at the start.

Regards

Vighnesh20
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thanks for the reply, can you tell me the difference between administrator account and guest os account created by wm during the initial steps of installation??

Because when i power on the virtual machine it directly redirects me to desktop page, it doesn't ask me for login credentials. I have given the guest user name during installation as win server, but when i press crl+alt+del and goto switch user i can see two accounts.

1. Administrator

2. ms server