VMware Communities
Clearly_A_Midge
Contributor
Contributor

Can't Unninstall VMWare Bridge Protocol from internet settings

Hey guys,

First of all I would like to say that I am not an expert on computers and VPN and these types of things so when you give me some advice or a possible solution, I would appreciate it if it was more of a "noob-friendly" explanation.

I installed VMWare workstation so I could use a MAC OSX simulator on Windows 10...I tried and it didn´t work so i decided to unninstall it.

However, ever since I unninstalled there were some residual files that I managed to delete on REGEDIT with the help of some forums but there are some that I CAN'T DELETE! (because it says its running on another program). On my internet properties i have a checked box saying VMWare Bridge Protocol and, when I try to unninstall it, it comes up with the following error:

• It wasn't possible to install the component VMWare bridge protocol. Error 0x8007007E

This constitutes a big problem because I was using a DNS (So i could bypass the geolocation block from NETFLIX), and now I can't change back to "Automatically obtain DNS server access" (Which i need to change because NETFLIX is now blocking custom proxys and such) so I can use my normal VPN...which also prevents me from using various other programs that are VPN or DNS based. When I try to change it this error comes up:

• An unexpected condition occurred. Not all of your requested changes in settings could be made. - I read that this happens because there is a bridge network configured, which i assume is VMWare because i've seen people with the same problem

I saw somewhere that the reason I get the the first error (Error 0x8007007E) is because it cannot find a certain driver for it to be able to unninstall and that I needed to find the CLSID files on regedit or something...but i HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO DO THAT.