VMware Cloud Community
jayvee2
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

SRM 8.2 API and PowerCLI Help - AddNetworkMapping

Hello,

I am not a developer, and have very limited experience using VMware APIs. I've looked at the Developer's Guide, and many other resources online, but I'm failing to understand how to properly use the API to automate adding network mappings in SRM. Thus far I have tried a command like:

$defaultsrmservers.extensiondata.InventoryMapping.AddNetworkMapping($vdpg_moref.value, $vdpg_adc_moref.value)

where the argument values are the MoRef value for local and remote distributed port groups (i.e. something like dvportgroup-000000), but I get an error:

Exception calling "AddNetworkMapping" with "2" argument(s): 
Error processing attribute "type" with value "dvportgroup"

while parsing MoRef for ManagedObject of type vim.Network
at line 1, column 268

while parsing call information for method AddNetworkMapping
at line 1, column 171

while parsing SOAP body
at line 1, column 64

while parsing SOAP envelope
at line 1, column 0

while parsing HTTP request for method addNetworkMapping
on object of type drextapi.InventoryMapping
at line 1, column 0"
At line:1 char:1
+ $defaultsrmservers.extensiondata.InventoryMapping.AddNetworkMapping($ ...
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [], ParentContainsErrorRecordException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : VimException

As I understand it, this is happening because the object type of the arguments I'm passing is not vim.Network, but I'm having trouble understanding how I can convert the object types. I've tried creating a new object with type vim.Network with

new-object -typename vim.Network

but I get the following error:

Cannot find type [vim.Network]: verify that the assembly containing this type is loaded.
At line:1 char:15
+ $networkobj = new-object -TypeName vim.Network
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~