VMware Cloud Community
srlawton
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Installing driver vib with get-esxcli

I am fairly new to PowerShell and PowerCLI, so this may be a simple question, but I have searched around and cannot find a clear example that shows me what to do. I am running 5.0 GA ESXi, vCenter, and PowerCLI.

I want to install a network driver via Powercli in the same manner I would if I ssh directly to the host, i.e.

esxcli software vib install -v /vib_file_path/vib_file_name = what in Powercli?

I have created the object as outlined in the docs, and run down the tree using the Get-Member commandlet, so I know what I need is in

$esxcli.software.vib.install()

But I do not understand what options / invocation method is required to get the command to complete. When I run this with no options, i get the usage:

TypeNameOfValue     : VMware.VimAutomation.ViCore.Util10Ps.EsxCliExtensionMethod
OverloadDefinitions : {vim.EsxCLI.software.vib.install.InstallationResult install(string[] depot, boolean dryrun, boolean force, boolean maintenancemode, boolean noliveinstall, boolean nosigcheck, string proxy, string[] vibname, string[] viburl)}
MemberType          : CodeMethod
Value               : vim.EsxCLI.software.vib.install.InstallationResult install(string[] depot, boolean dryrun, boolean force, boolean maintenancemode, boolean noliveinstall, boolean nosigcheck, string proxy, string[] vibname, string[] viburl)
Name                : install
IsInstance          : True

I am assuming that each of the pairs of brackets is a parameter, so I need give the command 3 options:

$esxcli.software.vib.install($1, $2, $3)

I have tried using a variation of these values, but the error I  get is the same:

PowerCLI C:\> $test.software.vib.install($null, "net-ixgbe-3.4.23-1OEM.500.0.0.406165.x86_64.vib", "/store/")

The remote server returned an error: (500) Internal Server Error.
At line:1 char:27