VMware Cloud Community
andrewrichardso
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Beginner's question - get host version and sort by hostname and version

Hi,

I'm trying to get the host version of all my hosts in vCenter and then sort the output into a table by hostname and version, but I'm pretty new to powershell and have zero programming background so i can't figure it out.

What I have got thus far is this;

get-vmhost | % { (Get-View $_.ID).Config.Product } | sort-object fullname | format-table FullName

This will get the software version of all my hosts and sort it into a list by software version (fullname). However because get-vmhost | % { (Get-View $_.ID).Config.Product } doesn't include the hostname in its output, I can't figure out how to include the host name into my output.

Can anyone help?

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

You can do something like this

get-vmhost | Get-View | select Name,@{N="Build";E={$_.Config.Product.FullName}} | `
sort-object -Property Build | format-table

On the Select-Object cmdlet you can use hash literals which will allow you to execute complex expressions.

If you want the ouput ordered by hostname, you can do

get-vmhost | Get-View | select Name,@{N="Build";E={$_.Config.Product.FullName}} | `
sort-object -Property Name | format-table

Or like this (which is a bit faster)

Get-View -ViewType HostSystem | select Name,@{N="Build";E={$_.Config.Product.FullName}} | `

Blog: LucD notes

Twitter: lucd22

Blog: lucd.info  Twitter: @LucD22  Co-author PowerCLI Reference

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
12 Replies
LucD
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

You can do something like this

On the Select-Object cmdlet you can use hash literals which will allow you to execute complex expressions.

If you want the ouput ordered by hostname, you can do

sort-object -Property Name | format-table

Or like this (which is a bit faster)