VMware Networking Community
BlueGrass168
Contributor
Contributor

Do I still have to setup Tier 0 and 1 Gateways if I just want to use NSX Distributed Firewall

Hello,

I am new to Nsx and running a Trial license and see if Nsx is beneficial to my network.

In my understanding of the NSX Distributed Firewall, it works on the Distribution Switch level.

I want to know if I do not need to set up Tier 0 and 1 Gateways.

I can find my VM on the inventory group now,

And I have set up a Firewall rule to try to block a VM Guest under the Distribution Switch, but no luck yet.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
ShahabKhan
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

No you don't need T0 & T1 for micro-segmentation only use-case.

jeffersonc47
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

As mentioned you do not need T0s/T1s if you're just using distributed firewall. You have two options for a security-only use case:

* Use the quick start wizard to do a security only deployment (see https://blog.redlogic.nl/en/nsxt-32-dfw-vds for an example). This will only install/configure the pieces of NSX-T needed for the DFW (and other security components).

* Do a standard deployment but simply don't deploy any overlay networks/gateways/etc. This is a little more work up front in that you need to configure host TEPs, but it provides a simpler migration path if you decide you want overlay networks later. (If you deploy security-only using the quick-start wizard above, you have to completely unconfigure/reconfigure the hosts if you decide you want to add overlay networks.)

BlueGrass168
Contributor
Contributor

Um... I saw the Blog and it said Cluster needed.

So, I have to set up 3-node Cluster with Virtual IP anyway first, right?

0 Kudos
ShahabKhan
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

In Production, yes you should have atleast 3 NSX-T Managers cluster deployed. But, for PoC or Lab you can go with single NSX-T Manager.

BlueGrass168
Contributor
Contributor

AR. I find what's wrong here now.