VMware Communities
zapnyou
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Fusion 2.06 and Windows XP Professional Repair

I have been using VMWare Fusion for 6 months now. I found out that I had a problem with Norton 360. It kept having problems seeing my external drive. We tried to remove Norton and reinstall it in my Admininstrator account, but nothing would happen. The process would "disappear." Norton Level 4 engineers said it was a Windows problem, since when we added another user account, it worked fine in that account. They suggested that I "repair" Windows.

So, I have been trying to Repair Windows using KB Article: 10103846.

1. The article needs to state that when you get to the "boot from the CD-Rom drive option," you need to use your "Arrow Keys" to select. The mouse cursor does not work, nor does the "Tab Key."

2. After "Specify additional devices" screen, I get :"Windows startup," not "Welcome to setup" screen, plus there is no "End user agreement."

3. I hit "R" to repair and it says to press "Control +" to release the mouse and disconnect the floppy drive, so you do not get a "NTLDR is missing error." Since the "Control +" does not work for me, I get the "NTLDR is missing error," and then my screen freezes.

I could really use some help or suggestions!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal

If you need to disconnect the floppy just select Virtual Machine > Floppy > disconnect. Use ctrl+command to release the mouse from the virtual machine to get to the Virtual Machine menu, then click back in to continue the repair option.

0 Kudos
zapnyou
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for replying.

I did try releasing the floppy drive using the Virtual menu, but I can't do it fast enough before the Virtual machine reboots and I get the error.

0 Kudos
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal