VMware Communities
chuckomoss
Contributor
Contributor

Outlook.pst file sharing error when located on Host OS

Greetings,

I have a MACbook Pro 2.2GHZ with 4.mg of RAM. My host OS is MAC OS X 10.5.2. I am running VMware Fusion 1.1.2, I have installed the recent VMWare Tools for the 1.1.2 upgrade. On the guest OS, I am running Windows Vista Ultimate and the Office 2007 suites of applications. I have the 1 TB Time Capsule that serves as my wireless router and the regular backup using Time Machine, which all of the above has been generally successful.

I am not a developer and I apologize in advance if I have missed a post somewhere explaining this. I am totally dependent on Outlook and Franklin Covey Plan Plus (time management system using outlook tasks) after reading a few post yesterday I changed the location of my Outlook.pst files from the default location in Vista/Outlook in the Guest OS to a shared folder on the MAC Host to have Time Machine backup my Outlook.pst file nightly and so I could have access to it as an individual file in the backup. Outlook was working fine until this morning when I restarted after the computer was off all night and I received the following errors in Outlook:

When trying to send an email message:

"The operation failed because of registry or implementation problem. Restart Outlook and try again. If the problem persists reinstall"

When trying to save a draft email:

"The item cannot be save to this folder. The folder was deleted or moved, or you do not have permission. The file
.host\shared folders\[my path to path to my shared folder on the MAC]\Outlook.pst cannot be accessed because another workstation has modified it. Close and then restart all mail enabled applications. You might need to restart your computer.
"