VMware Communities
Abcd_012
Contributor
Contributor

Free trial for Mac OS X 10.5.8?

Hi- I'm new to this although I have a pretty old Mac. Can I download a free trial of an old version of VMware Fusion or is the free trial only version 5? Thanks.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

I suspect the free 30 day trials are only for the current major release versions (which will not run under Mac OS X 10.5.8) although you might want to contact VMware Sales directly.

If you want to give Virtualization a try under Mac OS X 10.5.8 and you can't get a free 30 day trial of a version of VMware Fusion that's still supported and runs under it then I'd suggest trying VirtualBox and is free! Smiley Wink  The last version of VirtualBox shown to support Mac OS X 10.5.8 was 4.1.22 and I've included the relevant links below for your convenience as this is not a VMware Product nor a support forum for VirtualBox however I just wanted you to have an option if need be. Smiley Happy

Download VirtualBox 4.1.23 (98MB)

MD5 Sum:  708512613d2ffa4908ad0a089ad4d475 VirtualBox-4.1.23-80870-OSX.dmg

(Note: The Mac OS X 10.8.2 release includes some incompatible changes which require adaptions in VirtualBox. Therefore the original 4.1.22 build was replaced by a 4.1.23 build.  However this should still work with Mac OS X 10.5.8)

Download Extension Pack for 4.1.22 All Platforms (10MB)

MD5 Sum:  dafb1a66c0f88b7ffecc2b325223b669  Oracle_VM_VirtualBox_Extension_Pack-4.1.22-80657.vbox-extpack

Download VirtualBox 4.1.22 User Manual (PDF) (4.9MB)

MD5 Sum: 356493319a41d5fa3ff0b1205d5b6b75 UserManual.pdf

0 Kudos
avanish321
Expert
Expert

I believe the license of fusion version 5 is backward compatible with older versions. Not sure though.

My advise, contact vmware and verify it.

Cheers! Avanish
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Not sure why your replying to me and not the OP however...