VMware Cloud Community
tjreeddoc
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

vSOM alerts not automatically clearing/ Can you manual poll an Object?

All,

I am new to VMware, vSOM, and vROPs.

We have a VM in vSOM generating the following alert: “Virtual machine has continuous high CPU usage causing stress”.  Using vSphere Web Client and monitoring the performance of the CPU, I do see brief periods of time when CPU usage spikes above 60%.  However, it quickly returns to less than 10%.  So, I am expecting the vSOM alert to clear the next cycle.

After I watched the “vRealize Operations Explaining Alerts: Alerts, Symptoms, and Recommendations & Actions” video found on the Alerts tab of the offending VM, I discovered vSOM/vROPs polls Objects every five mins.

Questions:

1. Once the CPU utilization drops below 60%, shouldn’t the alert ”Virtual machine has continuous high CPU usage causing stressclear?
  2. When the utilization increases above 60%, shouldn’t vSOM/vROPs generate the “Virtual machine has continuous high CPU usage causing stress alert again?
  3. Do I have to wait five mins? Can I make vSOM/vROPs manually poll an Object to determine if the alert has cleared?

T.J.

Tags (3)
3 Replies
dtaliafe
Hot Shot
Hot Shot