VMware Cloud Community
Dryv
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Under/Over Provisioned Virtual Machines

Hi Guys,

I am very very new to Capacity Planning and vROps.

I'm starting to see vROps is huge! massive! but I think what I need is something very simple I hope... Smiley Happy

I need to be able to show either through a dashboard or a report that my VMs are spec'd optimally. By this I mean it shows me for example a VM has 8 vCPU and 64gb RAM, but it doesnt need it and could be stripped to 4vCPU and 32gb RAM.

Is this possible? if so, could you guys provide me some direction on how I could configure this and demo it as I'm on a trial version at the moment?

thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ShawnPD
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Once you select your object of interest (cluster, virtual data center et al) you can select the "Reports" tab.  Within that tab you will see a report templates and Generate Reports button as well as actions designated with icons (New Template etc).  Below that you should see a list of    pre create report names including oversized and stressed vm reports.  If you highlight the report then select the Run template icon, the completed report should show up in the generated reports area.  Once the report is complete you can then open as a pdf or csv.  It is also possible to create a custom report that could show both oversized and stressed in the same report but I have not had the chance to try that yet.

Hope I did not over state the obvious! 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
ShawnPD
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution