VMware Cloud Community
MeImNot
Contributor
Contributor

Scoreboard to monitor Windows services

Hey Guys,

I'm still very new to vROPS but I promise that I have been trying to do the below task over all weekend (not good!) and what I thought would take me 30 minutes has proved impossible for me to achieve.

I am putting together a dashboard to monitor Active directory and wanted to add a scoreboard widget to show the status of domain controller services I am monitoring using EP OPs however I am unable to do so. The idea is to select a domain controller using the Object List, feed it to the Scoreboard widget and show the status of the 6 services being monitored. I think that I have tried selecting every aspect of the EP OPs agent to feed to Scoreboard but was unable to get just the state of the services (I was getting the default vROPS stuff that I dont need), I have also created an XML file and configured the Scoreboard to use it and it 'works' (I can list all windows services in an Object List and click them one by one and it will show the status of the service) but I am still unable to display all the services running on a domain controller all at once in the Scoreboard widget...any suggestions are very welcome.

XML used:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<AdapterKinds>

<AdapterKind adapterKindKey="EP Ops Adapter">

<ResourceKind resourceKindKey="Windows Service">

<Metric attrkey="AVAILABILITY|ResourceAvailability" label="Service" unit="" yellow="" orange="" red="0"/>

</ResourceKind>

</AdapterKind >

</AdapterKinds >

Thank you!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
sxnxr
Commander
Commander

I tried to do the same thing a wile back with the vcenter server services and hit the same problem.