VMware Cloud Community
AthenaL
Contributor
Contributor

FreeBSD VM: Slow Disks

Hello everybody

I'm a relatively experienced sysadmin but new to virtualization so please excuse any lack of knowledge.

I have been playing around with ESXi in the hope of consolidating some of my FreeBSD machines. All seems to work really well with the exception of what seems like really slow virtual disk access. I have tried both the buslogic and LSILogic disk controllers but both seem inflicted with the same performance problems.

My tests were performed on the same hardware using the following crude benchmark: $ time { tar xzvf ./linux-2.6.25.tar.gz; }; averaged over 5 runs and the results were as follows:

1] Machine running FreeBSD as a native OS: Real: 0m17.820s; User: 0m2.100s; sys: 0m2.001s

2] Machine running FreeBSD as a guest of ESXi: Real: 2m35.937s; User: 0m14.882s; sys: 1m3.912s

Also buildworld took about 3 hours longer than the native install did.

I ran these tests both using the buslogic and LSILogic controllers and found the LSILogic to be slightly faster. I'm not sure if this really is a performance issue or if its about what I can expect for a VM.

Can anybody offer any assistance?

Thanks in Advance

Athena

0 Kudos
13 Replies
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal

Do you have tools installed?

--Matt

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us
0 Kudos
wpatton
Expert
Expert

Ensure VM Tools are installed. The LSI is a better controller, I would stick with that for FreeBSD.

Also, is the storage backend between your physical test system, and your virtual test system different?

If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".

*Disclaimer: VMware Employee* If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".
0 Kudos
AthenaL
Contributor
Contributor

Hi & thanks for your response