VMware Cloud Community
HenrikElm
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi and UPS?

How should we plan with using UPSs with ESXi? As there is no SC to install any UPS agents that can shutdown servers/hosts etc, how is UPS/Power to be handled in an ESXi-based world?

Best regards

Henrik

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
23 Replies
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

You could

1) Install the agent in the RCLI VM appliance and then have it shutdown the host (i.e. it would function pretty much like the service console does today).

2) Install the RCLI Windows package on your VC server and then have the UPS agent run a script which shuts down your host.

0 Kudos
HenrikElm
Contributor
Contributor

Hello!

Option 2 seems best to me in this case. What would be the command/syntax to shut down VMs and the hosts in a clean fashion? I can not seem to fins a suitable esxcfg-* command for that? I am very new to commandline work with ESX, so it may well be there, just that I dont know how to specify it..

Best regards

Henrik

0 Kudos
Berndt
Contributor
Contributor

have I got it right that both options require a physical host other than esxi that I connect my UPS to? If not how will the agent be informed of current outage? ESX(i) doesn't pass through usb devices, does it?

0 Kudos
gi-minni
Contributor
Contributor

Not necessarily, you can install the UPS agent into a virtual machine and connect the UPS via ip-address.If an UPS shutdown event occures, you can execute a vmcontrol.pl

command to the datacenter of your ESX3i server to shutdown immediately every running VM.

I am using the Linux apcupsd agent for APC Smart-UPS devices connected via the Web/SNMP management card.

Vmcontrol.pl ist part of the vi perl toolkit , please install it first and don't forget to connect your ethernet switch to your UPS receptacle.

Please keep in mind that ESX3i currently cannot connect the host serial port to a virtual machine or use any USB based UPS protocols.