lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

64bit version of RCLI ?

Jump to solution

I recently downloaded the VMware RCLI for Linux and I have a 64bit RHEL 4 system and tried to install but it failed since the toolset was 32bit. It provided an error stating "Please install the "x86_64" version of this program instead", but as far as I can tell from the download page, there is not distinction between 32bit/64bit (Appliance, Windows or Linux). Has anyone overcome this issue on getting a 64bit installer?

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

Check out http://www.astroarch.com/wiki/index.php/Installing_VMware_RCLI_within_64-Bit_Linux for instructions and a patch to apply.


Best regards,

Edward L. Haletky

VMware Communities User Moderator

====

Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.

CIO Virtualization Blog: http://www.cio.com/blog/index/topic/168354

As well as the Virtualization Wiki at http://www.astroarch.com/wiki/index.php/Virtualization

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIII: 2009-2021,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

There is no 64bit version of the VMware Management tools. This is unfortunate but you should contact your VMware Support Representative and request one.

Note however that you could easily comment out those lines of the Linux installer and still install the code, but it may not run.

Update:

Install VI Perl Toolkit but first install all dependencies: Read

Then edit the vmware-install.pl script for the RCLI and add a the following as the first line in the routine 'install_content_viperl'

return;

And the following as the first line of the routine 'is64BitUserLand':

return 0;

And comment out the 4 lines starting with this line which is around line 2839

system("vmware-viperl....

Then it will install the tools and apparently works.


Best regards,

Edward L. Haletky

VMware Communities User Moderator

====

Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.

CIO Virtualization Blog: http://www.cio.com/blog/index/topic/168354

As well as the Virtualization Wiki at http://www.astroarch.com/wiki/index.php/Virtualization

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIII: 2009-2021,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill
0 Kudos
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

Check out http://www.astroarch.com/wiki/index.php/Installing_VMware_RCLI_within_64-Bit_Linux for instructions and a patch to apply.


Best regards,

Edward L. Haletky

VMware Communities User Moderator

====

Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.

CIO Virtualization Blog: http://www.cio.com/blog/index/topic/168354

As well as the Virtualization Wiki at http://www.astroarch.com/wiki/index.php/Virtualization

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIII: 2009-2021,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
RParker
Immortal
Immortal

Well Since Diane Greene is out (VM Ware CEO and Founder) and a new guy from Microsoft is in, MAYBE they will understand the value of 64-bit.

There are LOTS of things the can be done better by simply allowing 64-bt (Virtual Center on a 64-bit OS for 1) and many things can be done better.. There are lots of shortcomings with these products, and 64-bit is becoming a real impetus for many of the VM Ware VCP. You are not alone.

0 Kudos
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

Thanks for creating a 64bit working patch for the RCLI, it's funny how there's an error message stating to get the 64bit version but I guess they dropped the ball on actually providing a 64bit installer. I found all the places that did the check, but I was not sure if the installer would break or if there are any inner depend. that I could have missed.

I'm trying out the RCLI and it's working great so far, do you know how to create sessions, I see there's --savesessionfile and --sessionfile but when I try to save a session, I don't see it in the working directory. I was hoping for something like ssh public/private key to be able to remotely configure multiple ESX Server without having to keep typing in the password. I aslo see other auth methods such as --passthroughauth. Do you know if this is similiar to the passthrough option that can be passed to the commandline execution of the VI Client on windows where it'll do a single sign on using your Windows login IF that's configured ot have access to VC? If that's the case, it sounds like if you use that option, at least in the Windows RCLI, you can execute the commands and use SSO.

0 Kudos
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

It should be the same as the windows version. I have not played with it much myself unfortunately.


Best regards,

Edward L. Haletky

VMware Communities User Moderator

====

Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.

CIO Virtualization Blog: http://www.cio.com/blog/index/topic/168354

As well as the Virtualization Wiki at http://www.astroarch.com/wiki/index.php/Virtualization

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIII: 2009-2021,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill
0 Kudos
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

np, I actually ended up using the .visdkrc that stores the environmental variables of the important things to be able to automate through a script to multiple systems. You want to store it usually in your home directory and make sure it's only readable to yourself and it looks something like the following:

VI_USERNAME = root

VI_PASSWORD = passwor123

VI_PROTOCOL = https

VI_PORTNUMBER = 443

By leaving out VI_SERVER, you can dynamically pass this in from the commandline, so once your password has been filled out you can do something like:

vicfg-vswitch -l --server=yourserver.domain.com OR esxcfg-vswitch -l --server=yourserver.domain.com (there's a symlink from the traditional esxcfg-* commands to the vicfg)

The only caveat is your root password will be stored in a file, so make sure it's protected, you can also do sessions, but I'm not sure how long they last and requires some level of interaction and you can actually use an interactive mode to pass in this information. It has most of the functionality of the traditional ESX Commands and it's not a bad way to go if you still want to continue using scripts to automate your build process or updates. I really do prefer these methods ... I would use powershell but have not had the time to really look into it. Another neat thing is if you decide to run the RCLI on Windows, I believe the passauth param allows you to do single sign on based on your Windows UID so long as VC or ESX has been configured for you to connect.

0 Kudos
halcabes
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Check out the newly released VI Management Assistant (VIMA) at . VIMA is a virtual machine that includes RCLI running in a 64-bit enterprise Linux environment.

--Harvey

Harvey Alcabes

Product Manager, VIMA & RCLI

VMware, Inc.

--Harvey Harvey Alcabes Product Manager VMware, Inc.
0 Kudos
torstenk
Contributor
Contributor

Hello all!

I did try all written above to install the RCLI @ Fedora-8, 64-bit, but it did not work. So I have made my way to patch and modify the installer

  • Download and unpack VMware RCLI package

  • Download VMware Perl Toolkit (64-bit version), rename it to "vmware-viperl.tar.gz" and copy it into the RCLI installation folder, overwriting the existing file

  • Then edit the vmware-install.pl script for the RCL, adding the following as the first line of the routine 'is64BitUserLand':

    return 0;

  • Install the package.

I did not need to install any perl-packages, it just worked fine out of the box. I have not done too much with this (mainly backup my ESXi configuration) but it looks fine so far.

-- Torsten.

0 Kudos
dconvery
Champion
Champion

Thanks - that worked perfectly for me.

Dave

************************

If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside.

Robert X. Cringely, InfoWorld magazine

Dave Convery, VCDX-DCV #20 ** http://www.tech-tap.com ** http://twitter.com/dconvery ** "Careful. We don't want to learn from this." -Bill Watterson, "Calvin and Hobbes"
0 Kudos
RubenITtec
Contributor
Contributor

Updated:

Finally I was able to install VI Perl Kit 1.5. But I don't know how to apply the pacht. Anybody can help me a little?

Thanks!

Hi guys

I'm trying myself to run VI Perl Kit software in CentOS Linux 64 bits box. I have read post and I was trying to follow the guide of http://www.astroarch.com/

First step is to install some paquets with yum command and then install VI Perl Kit. But when I unpack VMware Perl Toolkit v1.5 and run the installer I get the same error

-bash-3.2# ./vmware-install.pl

This version of "VMware VIPerl Toolkit" is incompatible with this operating

system. Please install the "x86_64" version of this program instead.

So I get the same problem. VI Perl Kit downloaded from Vmware web is also only to 32 systems.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

0 Kudos