VMware Horizon Community
Don40
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VDI Setup Questions

I am new to VDI environment , I have few questions to clarify on the setup ..

_1. _User remapping to the VM - when a user logs in for the first time in the persistent pool, the VM gets assigned to him permanently. How do I remap the VM to different users? In persistent pool

_2. _VM's bringing out of Pool - Can we deploy the VM's using the pool and later can we bring those VM's out of pool and use them as Individual VM's? (I mean not anymore inside the pool) As it deletes the Vm ‘s from the pool ..if I reduce the number in the pool ...

My requirement is to use Pool for deploying 200VM's but I would like to use Individual machine as I need to name all the VM's with the User ID names not using the prefix numbering

_3. _Local Admins on desktop VM's - Is it must for all the users who entitled the VM, should have the local admin access on the VM.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mittim12
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Thanks Mike. I would give you some points for your excellent response time and accurate answers if I could. Smiley Happy

If you found this or any other post helpful please consider the use of the Helpfull/Correct buttons to award points

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
mittim12
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Since you didn't specify any type of broker I am going to assume we are talking about VMware's VDM product.

1: Currently the only way to do this through the VDM Admin is to delete the VM and another one will be recreated and provisioned to a different user. See this thread for more details http://communities.vmware.com/message/885454#885454

2: I don't think there is any way to remove a VDM from a pool other than deleting it. I haven't played around with trying to remove them so I'm not 100% sure on that.