VMware Cloud Community
johanthomas12
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Using VMware to play games. What's the best method?

Hi,

I'm new to the whole VMware scene. I was hoping to have an ESX 4.1 server with virtual machines on it for remote gaming. The VMware view solution was reportedly the best way to speed up remote performance. As I was ready to download  games n the virtual machine, I noticed that my dream was shattered by the poor performance and unsupported issues I had with VMware. This was due to the video card provided by VMware.

My question is: What is the best way for me to hold on to my dream and come closer to gaming with VMware?

Could someone tell me if VMware will have a gaming product in the future?

I hope someone can guide me in how to accomplish my dream: To use good remote gaming performance without having to use your own hardware.

I appreciate your help in advance.

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Errock07
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

well, I`m a player too,and has some EXP with remote gaming.
please use ESXi 6.7 or 7.0u3(laster ver) as ur game server
there are 2 way to use ur graphics card in VM

the new way is 7.0ver has 2 different way pass through ur PCI device(i can`t test it now)

if u use 6.5 or 6.7 the old pass through, u can assign ur graphics card direct to VM,that means the VM has all graphics card,and can`t migrate this VM.

if u use 7 , there are a new pass though way, u can give a graphics card model to VM , if u have another same model card in another ESXi server in same Cluster, u can migrate VM on them.(I`not test yet)

till this moment ESXi6.7 ,vsphere not support pool the graphics card and easy assign,i hope this feature too.
for u game only,it eazy to assign graphics card to VM
for graphics card pool and cloud gaming for players , maybe has other choose

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
depping
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

@johanthomas12 wrote:

Hi,