VMware Cloud Community
Nesnub
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

USB Drive VMFS Format

Hello, I am new to ESXi and am using a home server as a learning tool. I just installed ESXi 4.0.

My setup is: Host with ESXi 4.0 running from USB key drive (4GB), my main VM drive is a RAID1 array of two 250GB drives, and my "bulk" storage is a 320GB drive in (non-RAID) SATA.

My goal: backuping the main VM drive to a portable USB drive.

I bought the USB drive, it's a WD My Passeport 250GB drive.

After enabling SSH, I plugged it on the host, through SSH, I can see the OS recognizes it (it shows up in fdisk -l). I then launch fdisk /dev/disks/mpx.***** (the portable drive), delete all partitions, create a new partition, primary #1, type VMFS and set it to use the entire drive. I write the changes to disk and after a fdisk -l reflects the changes... All is good.

I was unsure of how exactly on what FS to put on the drive, but ended up seeing only how to make it VMFS from the ESXi host (AFAIK I can not format it to ext3 from ESXi).

The problem: I launch: vmkfstools -C vmfs3 /dev/disks/mpx.vmhba35***

After half a second, I get the following error message:

Creating vmfs3 file system on "mpx.vmhba35:C0:T0:L0:1" with blockSize 1048576 and volume label "none".

Usage: vmkfstools -C vmfs3 /vmfs/devices/disks/vml... or,

vmkfstools -C vmfs3 /vmfs/devices/disks/naa... or,

vmkfstools -C vmfs3 /vmfs/devices/disks/mpx.vmhbaA:T:L:P

Error: vmkfstools failed: vmkernel is not loaded or call not implemented.

Looking at /var/log/messages, I see the following relevant lines:

Jul 21 00:54:15 vmkernel: 0:01:49:47.825 cpu0:4103)NMP: nmp_CompleteCommandForPath: Command 0x16 (0x41000409fcc0) to NMP device "mpx.vmhba35:C0:T0:L0" failed on physical path "vmhba35:C0:T0:L0" H:0x0 D:0x2 P:0x0 Valid sense data: 0x5 0x20 0x0.