VMware Cloud Community
vRayL
Contributor
Contributor

Snapshot did not create <vm>-<number>-delta.vmdk files

Hi, I'm a newbie so please go easy on me...

vSphereClient 4.0.0 Build 258672
VMware vCenter Server 4.0.0 Build 258672

I created a VM with 3 virtual disks, 1 on datastore 'OS' the other 2 on datastore 'DATA'. Once the VM was fully installed I created a single snapshot. We have been working off the snapshot for a while and want to delete it now.

Based on KB1015180 I expected to find 3 files with names based on the <vm>-<number>-delta.vmdk convention. Looking at the VM Properties, I verify the Virtual Machine Working Location is the 'OS' datastore as expected. However there are no <vm>-<number>-delta.vmdk files there. None in the 'DATA' datastore either.

There are 3 files that follow the <vm>-<number>.vmdk convention in the 'OS' datastore as well as the <vm>.vmsd and <vm>Snapshot<number>.vmsn as mentioned in the KB.

These are the snapshot related files found in the 'OS' datastore:

vm.vmdk (Parent disk - 50GB)
vm-000001.vmdk (6.5GB)
vm_1-000001.vmdk (0.4GB)
vm_2-000001.vmdk (0.5GB)

vm.vmsd

vm-Snapshot4.vmsn

So, any ideas why there are no <vm>-<number>-delta.vmdk files?

Also, is there a size limit to the child disk(s) to be aware of for version 4.0.0 Build 258672 ?

Thanks to all that reply,

Ray

0 Kudos
6 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

the data files (...flat.vmdk and/or ...delta.vmdk) are not displayed in the datastore browser. You can only see them on the console or through ssh.

André

a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Also, is there a size limit to the child disk(s) to be aware of for version 4.0.0 Build 258672 ?

I'm not sure what you are asking for!?  Can you please explain?

André

0 Kudos
vRayL
Contributor
Contributor

Hello André,
Either that was not covered in the install / configure / manage class that I completed last week or I just missed it. Anyway, thanks for the information! I'll have a look with ssh tomorrow.