VMware Cloud Community
Beano75
Contributor
Contributor

PSOD in ESXi 5.5 - Where to start?

Hi

I am a complete novice with VMware but have recently made the switch from Hyper V as recommended by a colleague for one particular installation.

With the first VM host we have installed, I have discovered they have had 3 PSOD's since the install. I have been looking through the 'vmkernal.log' to see if I can uncover nay information that might help me discover what is happening, but am basically learning as I go as long...and struggling!  Any help on where to look, what to look for and what it means will be helpful.  I'll gladly post the vmkernal.log, if I know its relevant.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership

PSOD:s are most often hardware related so first make sure that your hardware is on the VMware HCL and is fully updated with bios, firmware etc.

Next to do is to update the VMware software to the latest versions (Currently 5.5U1) to make sure no known bugs are causing this.

If there is still issues I would recommend to open a Support Issue with VMware Support. (Assuming you have a support agreement)

// Linjo

Best regards, Linjo Please follow me on twitter: @viewgeek If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".
0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Do you have a screenshot or photograph of the PSOD?  That might yield the quickest resolution.  If not, see http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1004128 for instructions on obtaining a vm-support bundle.

0 Kudos
Beano75
Contributor
Contributor

Server hardware is on the HCL. but no screen shots of the PSOD.  I was hoping to find this in a log file somewhere?

$299 for one off support, so I was kind of hoping to at least get an idea of the error before contemplating that route... bit expensive to be told 'Yes, its hardware..'