VMware Cloud Community
Chris_2015
Contributor
Contributor

New install on HP dl380 gen9 - No storage devices!

First time using ESXi 6 have just installed onto HP dl380 gen9 server using the HP specific ISO image:

VMware-ESXi-6.0.0-2494585-HP-600.9.3.30.2-Jun2015.iso

Then installed the client tools on a local PC from this executable: VMware-viclient-all-6.0.0-2741530.exe

Client connects to server OK and I go to create a new VM but there are no storage devices listed.  There is only USB controller in there.

Am I supposed to create an entry manually or should the controller & disks be detected automatically?

When installing the ESXi I didn't notice any options for configuration  - so assumed this would be automatic?

Any hints gratefully appreciated but please appreciate I am totally new to VM world - so easy on the jargon.

thanks

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
13 Replies
RichardBush
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi,

you need to create the RAID either at boot up, its an fX option at startup, or via the HP provisioning tool (CD or USB Boot).

Once that is setup the installer will see the disk.

Rich

0 Kudos
Chris_2015
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Rich,

thanks for the response.  yes we ran the HP provisioning.  Configured as Raid1 with two 600Gb disks.

Chris.

0 Kudos
RichardBush
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

‌sorry I miss read the first post.

you ll need to create the data store, from the client, select the host, configuration and then storage.

there is an option there to create a vmfs volume, go through the wizard. Does the disk show as available to create a new data store on ?

I Assume this is what you mean, as when you create a VM the wizard should so the a data store as the destination should one have been created.

Rich

0 Kudos
Chris_2015
Contributor
Contributor

I think we tried this - but it doesn't even show the disk!

Chris.

0 Kudos
RichardBush
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

‌ok,