VMware Cloud Community
Manieie
Contributor
Contributor

How to do BIOS upgrade for ESX 4.0/ESXi5.0

Hi All,

I have around 120 ESX 4.0 and 60 ESXi 5.0 servers in my environment.

Currently there is plan to upgrade them to ESXi5.1. I am new to this upgrade activity.

From compatibility, the BIOS and the firmware version of these servers needs to be updated.

The servers are DELL and HP models.

from Dell and HP, I can find the BIOS download for linux version but not for ESX/ESXi version. Are there any separate package for ESX/Esxi servers?

can anyone provide us how we can upgrade the BIOS version of these servers?. The easiest way to upgrade them?

Thanks,

Mani.S

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
schepp
Leadership
Leadership

Hi,

really, Comic Sans font? My poor eyes Smiley Wink

For Dell servers you can create a little bootable linux iso with the BIOS update tools implemented, that you can boot via iDRAC or USB or whatever you like and do the update. Check Bob Plankers blogst post for a detailed how to: http://lonesysadmin.net/2011/03/07/the-easiest-way-to-update-a-dell-servers-firmware/

I don't have HP servers but I guess there should be a similar way to do it.

Regards

Tim

0 Kudos
TBKing
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

HP has SPP - Support Pack for Proliant.

Boot from the CD or ISO for Firmware/Bios updates

It will even do Blade Center components

It will even do several systems at once if you want.

0 Kudos
mikejroberts
Enthusiast
Enthusiast