VMware Cloud Community
toddysm
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 5.5 Cannot connect to Management Network

Hello Everybody,

I am brand new to VMWare - just installed ESXi 5.5 on two blade servers and trying to configure them and connect them to VSphere client however I am experiencing issues with the network connectivity. Doesn't matter what configuration I set up for management network I am not able to ping the servers or ping any of the other machines on my network. My network is in the 192.168.1.x range and there is DHCP server running. If I configure ESXi to use DHCP I see error that it couldn't connect to the DHCP server. If I configure it to use static IP I am still not able to ping any other machines.

I also tried using 10.1.0.x network by configuring VM with dual adapter but this one didn't work either.

Machines are working fine because if I install Windows or Linux on them they are able to connect to the network. Are there any specifics for configuring the management network on ESXi hosts?

Both machines are experiencing the same issue. Logs do not yield any useful information.

Best,

Toddy

13 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

please provide some more information about the environment (blade vendor/model, chassis) and how you configured the Management Network during installation. Blades usually come with at least 2 network adapters. Can you confirm that either both of them are properly connected, and configured on the physical switch ports? If only one of them is setup, did you select the correct one during installation? You may try and change the Management Network's uplink (vmnic) from the ESXi host's DCUI to see whether this helps.

André

0 Kudos
Geoff_Rose
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

If you click on one of the hosts then configuration then networking you should see your standard switch. You can then go into properties and check the settings for the management network.